Team Giron outlasts Team Rocha, nabs LSGH Batch 05 Liga title


By: Diego dela Paz - Published December 7, 2018


PATRICK Giron saved his best game for last to lead his squad to an 82-75 victory over Team Rocha in the winner-take-all match for the 2018 La Salle Green Hills (LSGH) Batch 2015 Liga title.

In Game 3 on Tuesday night, Dec. 11, at the G Court in Mandaluyong City, NBA Philippines' Giron, the league's leading scorer, could not be stopped as he put up 34 big points to stun the Team Rocha five.

Save the best for last: Pat Giron's 34 is the highest scoring output by an individual this year, topping Geo Sia's 33 last November 26, 2018.

Erbin Vila fired 17 points in the match, and Acky Quiloy contributed 13 points, eight of which coming in the final 10 minutes that dealt the final blow to Team Rocha's title hopes.

Other members of the title-winning Team Giron included Gab Valenciano, Don Cribe, Martin Prado, Arthur Dizon, Roy Cabugao, Pat Disini, JM Banico, Gerard Roxas, Vitto Villamin, and co-captained by Ralph Rabanal.

A story for the ages: Team Giron started the league at 0-2, and had to face multiple elimination games towards the end, proving that no setbacks can ever stop you from reaching your goals.

In the first quarter, Team Rocha, despite gasping for form in the match's early moments, dictated the pace of the match to take a 21-15 lead. However, Giron and Vila caught fire in the second canto, putting up 10 and nine points, respectively, to take command at the break, 42-35.

Despite mounting comeback bids in the second half, Team Giron put Team Rocha at bay, on the back of captain Giron's consistent shooting and all-out performances throughout the board that was a complete turnaround from their Game 2 defeat.

Captain Miguel Rocha bannered his squad's last stand with 20 points, with Jeron Manzanero adding 15 points. Miguel Vasquez was limited to just 12 points, while Diego de la Paz put up a season-high 12 points in a losing cause.

One La Salle: At the end of the day, the true essence of the league is brotherhood and camaraderie, as portrayed by both teams.

Team Rocha also featured Carlos Mercado, Jayb Santos, Filemon Pestaño, Paolo Domingo, Anil Dargani, Arlon Carrera, Ian Avila, Benedicto Nieto, Dennis Lim, and Adrian Versoza.

The LSGH Batch 05 Liga is an annual draft-style, 5-team tournament spearheaded by Butz Tenchavez. Other team captains bannering the league are Geo Sia, Kenzo Villanueva and Richard Gavino.