21st One La Salle Alumni Basketball League Season Recap



By Jordan Samar - Published May 21, 2019




OneLove, DLSCSB105, 1993, and 1987 have emerged victorious in their respective divisions in the 21st season of the OLSABL.

Led by the high-scoring combo of Simon Atkins and Joshua Webb, OneLove trounced 2013&Friends, 96-79, in the Juniors Division Finals.

OneLove used a strong first quarter to gain a sizeable advantage against 2013&Friends, and they never looked back from there as they continued to outscore 2013&Friends in the other three periods.

Simon Atkins churned out 22 points and 14 assists while Joshua Webb notched 24 markers and nine boards.

Jameel Laigo poured in 23 points while Gelo Vito scored 19 for the runner-ups, who were missing the services of marquee players Kib Montalbo and Noah Webb.



In the Recreational Division, it was DLSCSB105 emerging victorious against 2005, 65-53, in what was a low-scoring affair.

The team heavily relied on Ian Ples, who scored 25 points on 52-percent shooting from the field. He was backstopped by Carl Cua who tallied 11 points.

Pat Giron’s 13 points went all for naught given the lack of support from his teammates. No other player from 2005 scored in double-digits.



Team 1993 eked out a close win over the tough Surf Theori side, 78-76, in the Adults Division Finals tiff.

1993 was able to withstand the scoring barrage of Paolo Orbeta by turning the tables around in the second half.

Bucking a slow start in the first half, 1993 outscored Surf Theori 30-17 in the third canto and they held on just enough in the final period en route to the victory.

Mon Jose led the way with 31 points, seven rebounds and five assists for 1993. He was backstopped by Wowie Evangelista who put in 20 points and nine assists.

Paolo Orbeta exploded for 48 points and 11 rebounds, but he turned the ball over six times. Edrix Crisologo was the Surf Theori’s second-leading scorer with 11.



1987 repulsed 1991, 78-69, in the Seniors Division Finals game in the OLSABL.

With the game being a nip-and-tuck affair for the most part, 1987 pulled away to preserve the win in the game’s waning moments.

MVP candidates Vince Lizo and Aga Agapito led the charge for 1987 by notching 18 and 12 points respectively.

Tonyboy Espinosa notched 23 points, seven assists, and seven rebounds while PJ Agregado posted 20 markers. However, none of their other teammates scored more than six points.